Wandering Thoughts…

Hello Dancer Friends,

I apologize for the lack of posts recently. (Spring Fever!) To make up for lost time, I thought I’d change it up this week with a new/different type of post…

I wholeheartedly appreciate and adore the things in my life that are amazing and good (god, so many things!…boyfriend, family, friends, a strong and able body, my art—writing and dance, the list goes on..), the things that make my life unique and special to ME. However, I also admit to feeling a bit like a ‘wanderer’ lately.

Negative vibes completely fog my exploration of self at times. The good is overshadowed by the blur of the uncertain. I accuse myself. I “should” myself. I think, “maybe I’m being too lazy”, “maybe I’m not doing enough.” But when that happens, here are some of the little things that pull me back into reality…the reality that life is good.

IMG_2951
Spring blossoms outside my door

Things currently helping me on my “ever-evolving” journey:

  • This recipe – there’s nothing better than the smell of fresh baked goods. This recipe’s so easy & so delicious…baking in the oven as I finish this post!
  • The Happiness Project – check out the entire website! Blogs to read, books to buy, podcasts to listen to! I LOVE to listen to this in the car throughout the week, whether I’m making my weekly journey to Roanoke for rehearsal or just driving around town…
  • EASTER! – Looking forward to my “surprise” Easter “basket”, arriving soon in the mail from Mom & Dad. I love the low-stress, springtime joy of Easter – a holiday to celebrate rebirth and new beginnings, time to gather with friends and family over good food and maybe some Easter chocolates (may even try my Mom’s lemon meringue pie recipe on my own this year) *side note-mini Cadbury eggs are life

    IMG_2962
    A stop along the weekly road trip…
  • Cinderella – diving back into this ballet (haven’t done this since high school!) has been a joy. I love the haunting and oddly different sound of the Prokofiev score. The waltz from Act One/Two gets stuck in my head for hours…
  • Conversations On Dance – I guess I spend a lot of time in the car, ‘cause here’s another podcast that boosts my waning mood throughout the week. This duo from Miami City Ballet interviews some of the most fascinating and influential current icons of the ballet scene. I love hearing more about their careers and the experiences of their esteemed guests…
  • Community – I’ve been watching an unusually high number of scary movies lately. To quiet my mind and provide me with a desensitizing show before bed, Community’s been my go to on Hulu. Funny, light, and zero supernatural beings…

    IMG_2948
    Summer time means lots more time out here ❤
  • Summer, summer, summer time – The promise of glorious sunshine, time spent by the pool, warm nights, visits with friends and family, and a super flexible schedule, keeps me optimistic.

Until next time J.O.D.ers!! Thanks for reading! Please feel free to read up on some of my old posts and stay tuned for next week!

Leave a Reply

