Life Is In The Little Things Too

“…you have to consider your happiness. It is absolutely necessary to nurture yourself as a human being…”

The smart and snappy clicking of keys on your keyboard. A compliment you receive. A smile you share with a stranger. A warm cup of coffee. A hug that you desperately needed. All of these are small sounds and gestures. They’re simple. But your reaction to these simple things speaks volumes about your personality and your life (and how you been livin’ it!-time to preach…).

IMG_1724
For capturing the little things…

Late December of this past year I made a trip to Barnes & Noble with my family (my annual hunt for a post-Christmas discounted calendar and planner for the new year). I found a cute little black and white, hipster planner and abandoned my hunt for a calendar. Instead, I visited the journal section. I knew what I was looking for, and I was committed to purchasing it – it’s called The Happiness Project: One Sentence Journal, A Five-Year Record by Gretchen Rubin. Now, could I have just pulled out an old notebook and jotted down something that made me happy every day for the next five years? – yes, absolutely. But instead, trend follower that I am, I forked over the money, bought the cute little bright blue book and felt inspired by it. I felt committed to the concept.

“…it can seem like we’re not allowed time to enjoy little things and consider what makes us truly happy…consider if we’re even happy at all.”

IMG_1593
A little love & kindness…

Tonight I found my “happiness journal” in my bag of everything and realized I had a few days of catching up to do. {I’m trying.} I’m certain the point of the journal is not to sit down and backtrack through your week and think of happy thoughts, but even my procrastinator version helps me in its own way. Sometimes if I miss a few days, I’m not able to think of anything at all that distinguishes a day from the rest (which usually means it was a pretty bad day). But quite frequently I find that something jumps out at me as a great memory of the day, or just a simple enjoyable detail that may have even turned the whole thing around.

IMG_1723
& someone to hold your hand…

Just because I have a “happiness journal”, doesn’t mean I’m guaranteed more happiness than the average person…or that I’m so depressed and messed up to begin with that I need it (but aren’t we all really?). What is important, is what the journal requires me to do on a routine basis, and that is SLOW DOWN. Even if I disrupt the routine and miss five days of writing down happy thoughts on paper, when I return to my book I am forced to stop and put things in perspective. ‘Forced’ sounds negative, but I use the term because it reflects how we treat the process of self-exploration in society sometimes. It’s such a “dog eat dog” world out there that it can seem like we’re not allowed time to enjoy little things and consider what makes us truly happy…consider if we’re even happy at all. But you have to consider your happiness. It is absolutely necessary to nurture yourself as a human being, despite the demands and the expectations you place on yourself. When you stop to take a look, you’ll realize that things are not as bad as they seem sometimes. It’s an eye-opener. Enjoy the compliments, the smiles, the hugs. Because life is in the little things too. Find them and appreciate them for what they are.

IMG_1357.JPG
Good Morning, sunshines. Go get ’em.

*My Many Thanks to Gretchen Rubin for her inspiring material. I subscribed to your monthly newsletter tonight, LOVE LOVE LOVE my Happiness Journal, & look forward to reading The Happiness Project and Better Than Before in the near future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

